Conversations with myself – Other times

“I haven’t always lived in Africa you know.”

Yes you have.

“No, not now,  in other times. I couldn’t say, but I have memories from before, from a long time ago. Of other lands, different horizons, different smells. Water, and mountains. But mostly the rain, the rain wasn’t the same.”

Not African rain?

“No. But, I think I lived in Africa once before, those memories are even older than the others, not of this time, not of another. It was open… endless then.”

You have returned to Africa?

“Yes, I think I wasn’t finished here.”

But then why did you leave?

“I think Africa took something away from me, and it hurt to stay.”

You have returned to claim it back?

“No, perhaps to finally say goodbye.”

Leave a Reply

