“There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminished by a nice cup of tea.”

So I am thinking about starting to drink tea again. I gave it up a couple of years ago for a reason that escapes me now but which I am sure was justified at the time.

I do recall though that I stopped liking it. But it is so appealing, the act of drinking tea. PLUS I would then be justified in saying things like, ‘ta’, ‘bless’ and my favourite, ‘tiddle pop.’

Actually, I have many fond memories surrounding tea. Early morning tea in my parents bed, the sound of the tea trolley being pushed down the passage by my dad, hot tea in plastic mugs next to the camp fire, my mom and my aunt sitting around the dining table in the afternoon drinking tea and talking while I did my homework. My sister asking, ‘Mom, how many spoons of sugar do I take in my tea?’ I know, bless (see). So yes, perhaps I should. Or perhaps, I should leave tea in the past where it once was.

Each cup of tea represents an imaginary voyage.  ~Catherine Douzel

Great love affairs start with Champagne and end with tea  ~Honoré de Balzac

There are few hours in life more agreeable than the hour dedicated to the ceremony known as afternoon tea.  ~Henry James, The Portrait of a Lady

I always fear that creation will expire before teatime.  ~Sydney Smith

Stands the Church clock at ten to three?
And is there honey still for tea?
~Rupert Brooke, “The Old Vicarage, Grantchester,” 1912

Strange how a teapot can represent at the same time the comforts of solitude and the pleasures of company.  ~Author Unknown

Polly put the kettle on, Polly put the kettle on

Polly put the kettle on

We’ll all have …. ♫♪♫

 

 

One thought on ““There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminished by a nice cup of tea.”

Leave a Reply

