“I believe in a kind of love that brings sailors home from the sea. Made up of seconds and years and the nospace between hands on skin. I cannot believe how much goes on. I can’t even cut out enough red hearts to keep up.”

So obviously it was Valentine’s Day recently… you would not have been able to miss this of course due to the abundance of the red hearts and tacky red teddy bears, well everywhere. And I have always been very outspoken about my dislike for this particular day.

And of course I always get a bashing about this.

But, for clarity…

My distaste for Valentine’s Day has nothing to do with whether or not I believe in love… And it certainly does not mean that I don’t believe in love.

Quite the contrary.

I believe that everything we do, everything we are, everything we hope to be… and everything we’ve done, is all for, and because, of love. I believe that love is what drives us, why we are here, what we search for, hope for, yearn for, and live for. I am a believer in love and everything that love means, and stands for… and promises.

“I wished for nothing beyond her smile, and to walk with her thus, hand in hand, along a sun-warmed, flower-bordered path.”

~ Andre Gide

All I speak of, and ponder, and question… is all ultimately about love. Love I believe, is our greatest ally… but also, our most dangerous enemy. It can build and destroy within the very same precise moment. I believe we must stand both awe, and in fear of love every second of each day.

“When love beckons to you follow him, Though his ways are hard and steep. And when his wings enfold you yield to him, Though the sword hidden among his pinions may wound you. And when he speaks to you believe in him, Though his voice may shatter your dreams as the north wind lays waste the garden. For even as love crowns you so shall he crucify you. Even as he is for your growth so is he for your pruning. Even as he ascends to your height and caresses your tenderest branches that quiver in the sun, So shall he descend to your roots and shake them in their clinging to the earth……

~ Kahlil Gibran

I believe we must love, and love as much as we can, love as many things, and love as many people as we can in this life. Breathe love in, exhale love, and breathe love in again until you are exhausted from its very presence in your life.

“Love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whosoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love, is done well.”

~ Vincent Van Gogh

I believe that love is more powerful than we can ever even begin to imagine… and in truth, so sacred is love that we should not even try to question it… but rather follow love and be love’s servant.

“And now here is my secret, a very simple secret; it is only with the heart that one can see rightly, what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

~ Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Love feeds our soul and drives us further than we could ever imagine… And indeed, anything done without love, or for love, would have been a waste. And when you love; love. There are no half measures. Every song that was ever written, every poem, every painting ever painted… has all been about love, or for love, or because of love…

“This is love: to fly toward a secret sky, to cause a hundred veils to fall each moment. First, to let go of life. Finally, to take a step without feet.”

~ Jalal ad-Din Rumi

I believe that only love itself can give us the courage, the inspiration, the will to move on… to go on… to shake us to the very core of our being and awaken us to what this world and this life has to offer. Love is where all things begin, and where all things end.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these, is love.”
~ 1 Corinthians 13

I believe our loves, what we have loved, and who we have loved… will be the most powerful and meaningful journey we will ever go on… Our loves and what we loved are our true legacies to our lives, and who we were.

“O dear my loves, O faithless, once again
This one last gift I give: that after men
Shall know, and later lovers, far-removed,
Praise you, “All these were lovely”; say “He loved”.

~ Rupert Brooke


Love cannot be explained, nor questioned… nor challenged… love, is sometimes the one and only answer we can give… ‘Because I love…’

”Then seek not, sweet, the “If” and “Why”
I love you now until I die.
For I must love because I live
And life in me is what you give”

~ Christopher Brennan

Happy Valentine’s Day xoxo

Someday, after mastering the winds, the waves, the tides, and gravity, we shall harness for God the energies of Love, and then, for a second time in the history of the world, man will have discovered fire.”


Leave a Reply

