“The tattoo attracts and also repels, precisely because it is different.”

I appreciate art in all it’s forms. And one such art is tattoo artistry. I think, in Western Culture at least, that over the years there has been a stigma attached to a person who chooses to have a tattoo. But I think, and hope, that we’ve finally started moving away from that concept and if you agree  or believe in the art of expression and individuality, then you would agree with me.

Below are some of my favourite images of inked people 🙂 enjoy!

“A tattoo is a true poetic creation, and is always more than meets the eye.  As a tattoo is grounded on living skin, so its essence emotes a poignancy unique to the mortal human condition.~V. Vale and Andrea Juno

“There is no “underground” community, no dark den of drunken sailors initiating themselves into manhood via cheap, ill-conceived exercises in bodily perforation; it’s just a group of people who delight in using their bodies as billboards.” ~Joanne McCubrey

“Show me a man with a tattoo and I’ll show you a man with an interesting past.” ~Jack London

“Ink to paper is thoughtful
Ink to flesh, hard-core.
If Shakespeare were a tattooist
We’d appreciate body art more.”
~Carrie Latet

“Tattooing is about personalizing the body, making it a true home and fit temple for the spirit that dwells inside it…. Tattooing therefore, is a way of keeping the spiritual and material needs of my body in balance.”  ~Michelle Delio

“When the designs are chosen with care, tattoos have a power and magic all their own.  They decorate the body but they also enhance the soul.”  ~Michelle Delio

“In all ages, far back into prehistory, we find human beings have painted and adorned themselves.” H.G. Wells

“Reason #7 For Not Getting a Tattoo: People will know you are running your own life, instead of listening to them!” ~ Sailor Jerry Collins, tattoo artist

“I’ll tell you this, lad: A tattoo says more of a fellow looking at it than it can do of the man who’s got it on his back.” – Sarah Hall

“It’s a good thing they (tattoos) hurt, otherwise every pussy in the world would have one.” – Jack Rudy

“A great tattoo is a statement, not a style. And getting it is a journey, not a destination.” – Vince Hemingson

“Tattoos to me are the outward symbol of the inward change within my soul.” – Nicolas Cage

And because you can’t mention tattoos without mentioning Angelina Jolie, Johnny Depp and Megan Fox (well, I can’t) :

“My body is a journal in a way. It’s like what sailors used to do, where every tattoo meant something, a specific time in your life when you make a mark on yourself, whether you do it yourself with a knife or with a professional tattoo artist.” ~ Johnny Depp

“Usually all my tattoos came at good times. A tattoo is something permanent when you’ve made a self-discovery, or something you’ve come to a conclusion about.” – Angelina Jolie

“Death could come at any time”, Angelina Jolie says. “The tattoo is a strong reminder to live fully in the moment and never have regrets.”

“Every time I get a tattoo, it’s a little fuck-you to anyone who tells me not to.  And I like the way getting a tattoo feels. If I’m depressed, it’s nice to get one and deal with the pain. I have one all the way down to my ribs. It hurt, but it felt good-like twisting a loose tooth. “– Megan Fox

~

“Tattoo the pristine flesh
What is permanent anyway?
This ink only lasts ’til the grave,
Skin and ideas decompose
That which we did, compose.”

~ Corri Alius

 

Leave a Reply

