It has long been an axiom of mine that the little things are infinitely the most important

So, ‘it has long been an axiom of mine, that the little things are infinitely the most important.’ This was said by Sherlock Holmes in the 1891 novel ‘A Case of Identity’ written by the great Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. But it is also now said, by me. Which of course, is more important.

The little things in life. Things perceived by others as insignificant, arbitrary, but which to you, might mean the world. Of course Sherlock Holmes was speaking more of clues available in order to solve a murder. This, however, can just as easily be transposed in reflection of life itself.

I will boldly admit that a cigarette with my morning coffee, scotch on the rocks on a Friday evening and painting my toe nails are three of the most important things to me. I realize that a few of you might be recoiling in horror at this point. But I state the truth; Because I know that everyone else has little things in their lives that are just as important to them too.

I had originally actually gone on to list other ‘little things’ that people I know and love consider important, which were endearing and all, but mine ended up sounding rather sad. So I’ll work on that.

The point is, appreciate the little things, you would miss them if they weren’t there anymore. They mean the most. Oh, and this is over and above the norms of, ‘the air I breathe’, ‘the roof over my head’, ‘the food I eat’ and ‘my family’ and all that. Those are a given.

As you were.

Leave a Reply

